Day at Great Lakes


Beginning of the Day
(as on May 22, 2006)

6:25 a.m. My alarm clock starts beeping and I reluctantly roll out of my bed. The sun is shining bright (read extremely hot) and it appears to be a nice early-spring day. Our XYZ subject (wouldn’t call it a specific subject as all subjects are equally interesting and gruelling) case for today required some significant pre class room reading and assumptions, and after my shower I hope to quickly compare my assignment with my study group’s write-up, which was sent out to our group late last night.

Study Group

7:30 a.m. I quickly grab some breakfast at the College Cafe as I head to study group. Since today is a three-class day, we usually all get to study group by around 7:40, and after five minutes of socializing and waking up, start our discussion at 7:45.

This morning, we spend about fifteen minutes on each case, just throwing out ideas and questions associated with the protagonist or the decision that has to be made. At this point in the year, we’ve still not figured out fully how to read cases and what exactly we should be prepared for in case of a cold call, but it’s always nice to share thoughts and ideas as one of us has always thought of something none of the rest of us have.

The Section Experience

8:40 a.m. Statistics is my first class of the day in Section S1. One of the greatest things about Section S1 is that, since we stay in the same room with the same fifty four students for half a year, we get to all know each other very, very well. Many bonds and friendships form and the section becomes a strong community, always trying to help each other out whether it’s during a cold call, holding a review before a final exam, or supporting each other outside of the classroom. Later tonight, my class (read people from all sections) is going to a local bar.
11:40 a.m. My second class just finished, and we have thirty minutes until our next class starts. A bunch of my section mates and I go grab lunch in the Coll Café (sign again!) and head outside to enjoy the nice weather (yuck it’s so hot and humid). As we sip on Chai at the local tea shop, we discuss placement plans, among other things.

Speaking in Class

2:00 p.m. As class starts, the professor calls my name… for a split second; I had visions of a cold call! This class is Transformational Leadership and this is the first semester it’s being taught here at Great Lakes. Today’s class is a very interesting ethical dilemma in which an executive of a juice company has a series of decisions to make that do not appear to have an obvious right or wrong answer.

The Day Really Begins
Doing Cases

4:00 p.m. Class ended at 3:30 and I’ve spent the last half-hour grabbing a quick snack and relaxing. Now, it’s time to start my cases for tomorrow (which is a two-case day!). I spend, on average, about an hour preparing each case, although some are shorter or longer than others. The amount of time I spend on a case usually correlates to the previous knowledge I have about the industry (I’ll spend less time on a case for which I already know about the industry) and the amount of number crunching needed to fully prepare a case (I’ll spend more time on cases that require heavy number crunching).

Shad

5:00 p.m. Whew! Cases are finished for tomorrow. Now its time for some TP session 😉

Evenings at Great Lakes

7:00 p.m. I am about to head back to my room, when suddenly we hear about an assignment which has to be completed by 9am tomorrow. Darn there goes the plan for the evening….
8:00 p.m. After the new case study finishes, we all head over to Ascendas (the new found abode) to eat dinner. We run into some more classmates who join us, and our dinner conversation quickly changes from classes to everyone’s last holiday plans L .
After dinner, I head back to my dorm room to check e-mail, leave some messages, and spend some time relaxing and watching TV.

Post Dinner at Great Lakes

10:00 p.m.
there is still more work to be done before we hit the sack….lots of assignments to be done before the month end ..

01:00 a.m. After the canning our assignments into the required format, I head back to my room….am (we) are so tired … I have no trouble falling asleep.

Contributor……..
Sandeep Khanna,
The Crusaders’ (PGPM Class 2007).

About greatlaker

Great Lakes Institute of Management aims to seek, mould, polish and develop leaders with changing times. Based on its discipline based core courses it moulds the students to become "Masters of Business Readiness" by a dynamic curriculum of customer - centric electives providing synergies, enriching tradition with innovation, processes, technology and intellectual capital.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day at Great Lakes

  1. Manik Kinra says:

    thats a real kewl one…good work sandeep:)MAnik

  2. hmmm…tht gives gud insight of the gruelling 1 year MBA course. myself joining GMBA in SPJ this year. Hope you people will carry forward the legacy of Uncle Bala. All the Best

  3. koushik says:

    “Transformational leadership??!!” Does Venkat.R.Krishnan know that he taught us this course in Term I ?

    !!!!

  4. JK says:

    Looks like this is the case in most of the Tier 1 B-Schools with a 1yr prog. Its all abt time management, prioritization and learning to cope with less sleep. “To cope with less sleep” is not something I am saying, this was said by some reputed profs who came to our coll to teach.

Leave a Reply

